About us


Principal Conductor: Gianandrea Noseda
Chief Conductor: Jaime Martín
Conductor Laureate: Sir Neville Marriner
Artistic Director: Llorenç Caballero Pàmies

The Cadaqués Orchestra was founded in 1988 on the initiative of a group of young musicians from Spain and other countries in Europe who wanted to form a classical orchestra with certain clear goals: to work closely with living contemporary composers; to recover a legacy of Spanish music that has been unjustly forgotten; and to promote the careers of up-and-coming soloists, composers and conductors.

With Mediterranean roots but possessing a clearly cosmopolitan orientation, the Cadaqués Orchestra received immediate recognition on the music scene for the quality and commitment of its musicians and the dynamism of its projects.

Conductors such as Sir Neville Marriner, Gennady Rozhdestvensky and Philippe Entremont gave their support to the project and became principal guest musicians, as did Alicia de Larrocha, Teresa Berganza, Paco de Lucía and Victòria dels Àngels, among others.

In 1992, one of the orchestra’s most notable initiatives was launched: the Cadaqués Orchestra International Conducting Competition, an event which – with the collaboration of other Spanish orchestras – opened the doors of the professional market to young conductors from all over the world. Pablo González, Gianandrea Noseda, Vasily Petrenko or Michal Nesterowicz have been some of the winners of this competition who today occupy important conducting posts in renowned orchestras.

Gianandrea Noseda, winner of the 1994 Competition, was appointed chief and principal conductor of the Cadaqués Orchestra in 1998, and Jaime Martín, one of the founding members of the orchestra and principal flutist for over twenty years, was appointed principal conductor in 2011.

With the aim of promoting contemporary music, the Cadaqués Orchestra created the Cadaqués Orchestra Ensemble and the figure of the resident composer. During these twenty years of its existence the ensemble has premiered numerous works written expressly by Spanish composers such as Xavier Montsalvatge, Jesús Rueda, Hèctor Parra, Jesús Torres, Luis de Pablo and Joan Guinjoan.

The Cadaqués Orchestra has made numerous recordings at the hands of its principal conductors Sir Neville Marriner, Gianandrea Noseda and Jaime Martín, released on the Tritó and Philips labels, and also a collection of classical music works for children.

The orchestra is also involved in educational projects, collaborating with various Spanish youth orchestras.

The Cadaqués Orchestra operates as a private entity. It counts on the support of the Ministry of Culture of the Spanish Government and the Department of Culture of the Generalitat Government of Catalonia for its tours.


Conducting Competition

Conducting Competition

Price: 12,04€


  • Cadaqués Orchestra
  • Cadaqués Orchestra
  • Lorenzo Viotti, First Prize of the 11th Competition, December 2013
  • Cadaqués Orchestra & Gianandrea Noseda
  • Vlad Vizireanu, Second Prize 11th Competition, december 2013
  • International Conduction Competition - 2008
  • Gianandrea Noseda, principal and main conductor
  • Gianandrea Noseda and the Orchestra, January 2008
  • Jaime Martín, main conductor
  • Jaime Martín
  • Sir Neville Marriner, principal guest conductor
  • Narcís Casanovas' Motets at Palau de la Música
  • Mendelssohn's Midsummernight's dream at Palau de la Música
  • With Ainhoa Arteta and Sir Neville Marriner at Zaragoza Auditorium - 2008
  • Eight songs for a Mad King - Madrid, March 2010
  • Eight songs for a Mad King - Madrid, March 2010

The OdC on iTunes

Listen to us on iTunes

Go to iTunes

The OdC in concert

Live the experience with the Orquestra de Cadaqués

Go to agenda